The New York Times fails to deliver.

I know that you didn’t expect to see a block of text here. But, I thought that the situation has become so hilarious that I should let you read the letter I sent to the New York Times’ subscription department. Enjoy! 🙂
=======

Dear Circulation Manager,

As an enthusiast, I decided to subscribe to the highly touted and coveted Sunday edition of the New York Times. I could read online editions but I still belong to the crop of readers who like the feel of ink rubbing on the fingertips. Since your newspaper offered home delivery at discounted educational rate, I opted for that. I received an email from the NYT congratulating me for becoming a subscriber and a promised delivery date of 16 March 2014.

Unfortunately, the newspaper was not delivered on that Sunday. I called the subscription services and after jumping a few hoops that you have set up to discourage us from calling, I managed to get hold of a nice lady who regretted about failed delivery and promised another delivery the same day. Unfortunately, she could not keep her promise and I did not get the newspaper on that day. I called again and was promised the delivery to start from the next Sunday, March 23.

March 23 came but the newspaper was not delivered. One more call and I was remitted an apology along with more promises of same day attempt to deliver the newspaper. No, the newspaper was not delivered on that weekend either. But I had the promise from the grand New York Times that the next weekend would be definitely be the auspicious one.

March 31. Still no delivery of the newspaper! WTF? I call the subscription department and still another bout of apologies and promises to fix the system and another attempt of delivery the same day before noon. Yeah, you got it…..NO FUCKKING DELIVERY!!

So I call the subscription department again. This time a guy picks up the phone and he decided to hand the problem over to a supervisor named Jennifer. Jenny is a good employee of yours. She is loyal enough to her employer that she would let a customer drop off than to admit that her employer’s system has a fault. She vehemently disagreed that there was any problem with the delivery system. Perhaps, she meant that I had bought a house at wrong place in a wrong city and that is the reason for not delivering an internationally renowned newspaper in a small nondescript town’s tiny address.

Maybe the New York Times is meant for glitzy corporate glass-clad sterile sky-scrapers and it would be shear insult to send a 150 years of shining glorious journalism to a tiny location in the middle of nowhere of America.

Or may be the New York Times is just acting like a third rate scammer to lure buyers into print subscription and then try to keep them on their digital subscription with added ‘discounts’.

I was going to cancel my subscription, but I am kind of liking how your employees tender their apologies with an arrogance. So, I will like to hear your apologies as well. I will give you one more weekend of apologies and then I will cancel my subscription never to be renewed again.

Thank you for keeping the tradition of scams alive.

Sincerely,

A pissed subscriber

One thought on “The New York Times fails to deliver.

Leave a Reply

