Thank you.

So here we are after a full year of picture-a-day marathon.  This undertaking was a real test of steadfastness.  I am glad that I was able to complete this project, albeit with a few delayed postings.  There have been moments when I felt unsure, overwhelmed, tired, or uninspired. At those moments encouragement from several friends kept me going.  I am lucky to have some wonderful colleagues who are also camera enthusiasts.

My camera buddy, colleague and friend Dr. Paari Swaminathan has been a dynamic force in setting things in motion.  With Paari, I have traveled many many miles to take pictures.  He has moved out of the town leaving a gaping hole in my photography world.

On numerous occasions I have discussed the camera angle, the light, the photo processing and have incorporated suggestions from Dr. Duane Hall.  His quiet nod is usually sufficient to pacify my anxiety about a photograph.

I could not escape the influence of Dr. Adam Rokita‘s geometric composition style which we lovingly call ‘Rokit-esque’.  Adam is a diehard medium format film photographer.

We lost our dear friend  Marwan Mustafa, a medical student whose enthusiasm for photography was contagious.  On one occasion, Marwan led us to a dark isolated wooded pond where we stood in tall grass through the night taking pictures of stars and the milky way.

Many a time when I had doubts about continuing the project, Dr. Olga Koval and Dr. Ekaterina Subbotina pushed me forward.  Their support was instrumental in completion of this project.  Dr. Subbotina is also a camera enthusiast who has accompanied me on photo trips.

Dr. Roseanne Wolf was my first model for the blog.  She has always been interested in our photography and has approved our work with her trademark smile.  In addition, Dr. Subbotina and Dr. Koval also helped me with their presence in front of the camera when I needed them most.

A couple of times my daughter and son held the camera for me  and pressed the shutter.  Those were some good pictures too.

Finally, this project would have existed  in a vacuum had the readers and bloggers not given their tremendous support.  With their encouragement, this project grew bolder.  I learned things that worked or didn’t work.  I gained confidence which is reflected in gradually more challenging and complex photographs.  It was good to see so many bloggers return to the blog and leave comments.  Many have been quietly influencing my photography.  Whereas all of you have been guiding my blog, I would like to acknowledge a few  here for their continued support;  Julie-Faith, Aparna (Midnighthues), Ag (pixetera), 68ghia, ckponderings, Ninali, shutterbugsage, and Nonoymanga.

Now the completion of this project raises the question ‘what’s next’.  I know that I will miss this blog and my fellow bloggers.  I am toying with a couple of ideas to see if they materialize.  I will keep you posted.

Thank you and A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013  to you all!!!

10 thoughts on “Thank you.

  1. I, for one, enjoyed your view of things, and you know which ones were my favourites 😉
    Hoping to see you back here again in the new year – may it be a happy one!!

  2. What a beautiful, beautiful coda, singhmv. I too have just completed my photo/day blog for the year but have yet to write my concluding statement. The graciousness and humility of yours speaks volumes about your character and the sensibility that has produced so many stunning images these last twelve months. My heartfelt thanks to you for your acknowledgement, and for your steady support of my work.

    Like you, I’ve been amazed at how challenging this project has been in terms of time and commitment. The truth is that I’m actually thrilled, delighted, ecstatic, and overjoyed knowing that Tuesday I won’t have to post any images — or Wednesday, or Thursday, or Friday, etc., etc. 🙂 But I can’t ignore the fact that Pixetera has taken my photography in new directions that deserve to be nurtured. I’m thinking then of continuing it on an abbreviated photo/week basis.

    I’m confident we’ll be seeing more of your images before too long, but until then, I’ll miss the pleasure of seeing the world through your eyes. One of the things that most surprised me when I started my blog and gained some followers was the closeness I felt to several photographers — you among them — even though we were geographically distant, had never met, and shared only our photographs. That is something I will always treasure.

    The best to you and your family for 2013.

    1. Thank you Ag. Indeed, it has been a pleasure to do this project alongside so many talented photo-enthusiasts like you. I have been taking a break from the photography and have not visited your concluding part of the photography yet. Thank you so much for such kind words. I hope to return to photo-blogging soon. At the moment, the central midwest is just very uninspiring anyway. LOL.

  3. It was lovely seeing your thoughts in pictures Madhu! It was a pleasure being here and learning from your photo blog. Thank you my friend, for your perceptive comments on my poetry blog too 🙂 Happy New Year to you and your family!

  4. Hey..MV..nice pics..I enjoyed your work..and specially the description and situation you wrote down for each of the pics…hope you have further plans to take it to next level..vinod

  5. I know I am late to the game here Sing but I wanted to let you know I silently lurked the remainder of the year. I fell down a deep hole after photographing my sister-in-law’s wedding as a favor and still just trying to reach the surface from my own criticisms. It really is amazing how we can be so hard on ourselves even when everyone tells you how wonderful you’ve done, you still can’t get past your own mind.

    I wanted to say though how grateful I am that we crossed paths…I always looked forward to what you had in store for us. Often times seeing other talented work of the many photoblogs that I have followed made me want to do better and yours was no exception. I admire so much your eye and what you see and I think part of my frustration comes from thinking I don’t have that same ability. Completing this project is a major achievement and I commend you for doing it so beautifully. I was completely humbled to see my name in your post and I knew that the moment I came out of my darkness you’d be the first I’d compliment and thank. I’d love to know if you have started a new project as I am still trying to lift the fog and see clearly again and seeing work I admire helps. I hope you are well and things are going wonderfully for you.
    My best,
    ~ninali

Leave a Reply

